need to be bold, need to jump in the cold water.

joshradinlyrics


Why are you taking this class?

This was my least favorite ice-breaker question in college.
Because it was required for my major.
This was my least favorite response.
C’mon, people, at least be original. For a social work class about substance abuse, I answered, Well, have you ever seen Breaking Bad? Thrilling. (I’ve seen every documentary ever made about Methamphetamine use now.)

You’re probably wondering why I’m here. Or why you’re here.
Thank you for being here. I hope you stick around.

I’m here for a few reasons. Only one of them falls under the “requirement for my major” domain.

1. Reflection.
Learning hurts. It’s what you do with that hurt that counts. I’ll admit that it took me over a month to formulate my first blog post. But, here I am, taking the plunge.
I’m here to better myself as an educator and as a citizen of the world, and that’s up to me.

Wisconsin InTASC State Standard #9 says “Teachers are able to evaluate themselves. The teacher is a reflective practitioner who continually evaluates the effects of his or her choices and actions on pupils, parents, professionals in the learning community and others and who actively seeks out opportunities to grow professionally.”

2. Networking & collaboration.
I’m hoping to connect with you, and learn from you, and possibly collaborate with you. And I’ve harvested advice from two leaders in this field:
my mentor and professor, Linda Carpenter, who blogs here.
and teacher and global collab professional, Pernille Ripp, who blogs here.

3. Because it was required.
Let me explain. I’m serving as a Team Lead for a national internship program through North Carolina State University called Project Y.E.S!, which provides support and youth development services to military families and youth. (I could talk about this amazing experience all day, so please, ask away.) As a requirement for this internship, each of us is to complete a professional development piece to create a community resource. So, here I am.
Takin’ the blogosphere by storm.

Bonnie is a Master’s student in Inclusive Education program at Cardinal Stritch University and Team Lead for Project Y.E.S! through NC State University. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with a B.S. in Human Development and Family Studies (and apparently, with a certificate in Criminal Justice) in 2013. She worked in an urban preschool in Madison as an AmeriCorps literacy team member and then as a substitute and support teacher in a choice school in Milwaukee. She now works for her father, who owns a small auto repair business while she gains experience in classrooms throughout Wisconsin and with military families throughout the United States and U.S. Territories. She loves to read, travel, and pretend to play the guitar, and is currently planning a wedding with her fiancé, Justin.

6 thoughts on “need to be bold, need to jump in the cold water.

  1. Linda C. October 23, 2014 / 9:21 pm

    Welcome to the blogosphere. Thank you for taking the plunge. You have set valuable goals for your professional practice. Reflection is a powerful tool for growth and collaboration is essential. I’m looking forward to following your journey and learning from you as you become the educator you want to be and the educator your students deserve.
    Linda

    Like

  2. Myra October 27, 2014 / 9:06 pm

    I’m excited about reading about your journey. I’ve already learned something new about you. How did I not know that you played guitar? Congratulations for taking this step!

    Like

  3. Beverley Cash October 28, 2014 / 12:27 pm

    Great, fun tone to your blog. I look forward to reading more!

    Like

  4. JC October 28, 2014 / 12:29 pm

    Charles Glassman once said, “The danger of venturing into uncharted waters is not nearly as dangerous as staying on shore, waiting for your boat to come in.” Congrats on a positive step to make a ripple in uncharted waters. Watch that ripple magnify as it moves throughout the many lives you will positively affect! Way to go Bonnie!

    Like

    • msbee13 October 28, 2014 / 11:12 pm

      JC, you always have such relevant words of wisdom. Teach me your secret. Is it Google or are you storing all of these up in your noggin?

      Like

  5. Megan Dixon November 4, 2014 / 1:24 am

    Bonnie, I look forward to being a part of your journey! Be bold!

    Like

Leave a Reply

