Summer 2015 Reading List

summer is for reading
I love summer because summer has this magical quality that allows me to stay up all hours of the night reading books and still never feel tired in the morning. Maybe a tiny part of the reason why I chose to become a teacher was so that I could have summers “off,” although if you talk to any teacher about their summer “vacation,” they will laugh at you. Vacation or not, I find summer to be a great time to catch up on some reading. Here is my rough and tentative list of books I plan to read over this summer.

1. The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
2. This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki
3. Left Neglected by Lisa Genova
4. Paper Towns by John Green (2nd read)
5. Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling
6. The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae
7. The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by Anne Fadiman
8. Choice Words by Peter Johnston
9. The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller
10. Redeployment by Phil Klay
11. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
12. The Migraine Mafia by Maia Sepp
13. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
14. Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith
15. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
16. If You Find This Letter by Hannah Brencher
17. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt
18. Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
19. George by Alex Gino
20. The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney
21. How It Went Down by Kekla Magoon
22. El Deafo by Cece Bell

And I’ll likely throw in some Jacqueline Woodson, Chris Cutcher, Alfie Kohn, and many many picture books! What are you reading this summer? I’d love to hear your suggestions.

3 thoughts on “Summer 2015 Reading List

  1. Emily! June 16, 2015 / 4:25 am

    I’ve read 3, 15, and 17! Might check out your list when I need a new book to read!

    Like

  2. Sharon Leiterman June 17, 2015 / 1:06 am

    Add Kate Morton’s books to your list. She is my new favorite author. Left Neglected is a great book. read over a year ago.

    Like

  3. Penny June 17, 2015 / 10:05 pm

    I have both the Ransom Riggs books you may borrow when you are ready. Also THE PARIS WIFE is a great cultural read to find out who really influenced Hemmingway at the start of his career. GRANDMA GATEWOODS WALK is very empowering about a woman overcoming a personal problems and fighting for a cause before it was “in vogue”. Both worth the time. Also, THE INVENTION OF WINGS by Susan Monk Kidd is a must. Happy reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

